If memory serves…

I don’t remember the topic of my first article. I can’t recall working on my first print ad either. But amidst a legion of cadaverous memories, there lies a spark full of life- a ray that changed color with every blink of my inexperienced eyes. In the course of my ongoing journey, I have been guided by the light of fear. It growled at me when I struggled with the headline, forged an alliance with the clock to shrink the deadline. I was beaten into the ground when I tried to befriend it. There is no camaraderie between the mighty and the meek.
It took me a while to earn the respect of my rival. And then, on one fine day, when the ‘fastest ad copy ever written’ made the stone faced Royal Guard (Creative Director) smile, I saw O.C.D signing the terms of surrender- the wick was slowly burning out. My heart goes out to the little boy, who received no lesson in crossing this road; who wasn’t discouraged from talking to strangers. But, at the same time I salute the courage of the man who braved all odds to silence his master’s voice- who sat and watched the ball disappear in the bushes- who tore his way out of the iron collar.
Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (O.C.D) is a medical condition that affects the human brain. It stirs a lethal solution of doubts and fear that slowly renders you and your judgment supine. If left untreated, this perfidious folly of mind can put a hole in your present to drain out your future. Well, it sounds ridiculous to my ears now, but there was a time when my weakness matched the strength of the Trojan walls.
I can’t imagine a life devoid of struggle and hardships. They hold a certain entertainment value for me. When I think about those insightful lectures I attended, or the other day when I got an A+ for not scrubbing my feet 5 times before going to bed, I smile at the dark humor of a nutty professor who just couldn’t stop breathing down my neck.

Published by: flatlined84

A thinker outside the quarantine zone. The words on this blog will assault your senses, would make you curse in the holy name of Bard. If that's not enough, leave a piece of your mind in the comments section- the writer is on the dole and is always hungry.

Categories Mental HealthTagsLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

